The iconic 100th AGM

Share Via

    The iconic 100th AGM was virtually held via Zoom on 20th March, 2021 at 10.30 am, followed by the SGM on 21st March, 2021 at the Swimming Pool Complex.

    The AGM was presided over by Mr. Naina Mohammed, and the SGM was admirably conducted by the Presiding Officer, Mr. Hanan Malik, respectively.

    The AGM meeting commenced with the customary recital of Qirath and then followed by the sequences of College Anthem, National Anthem, recitation of dua in memory of all the deceased members , reading the notice and minutes of the meeting as well as Annual Report of 2020 and the adoption Audited Report which was circulated among the members.

    Afterwards, following the recital of Salawath, the AGM was adjourned.

    On 21st March, voting for the AGM and SGM’s was simultaneously conducted at the Swimming Pool Complex at 10.30 am, under the guidance of the Presiding Officer, Mr. Hanan Malik.

    Mr. Hanan Malik read the names of all duly elected OBA EX CO members including the name of Mr. Alavi Muktahr as President of OBA. The following Office – bearers were elected to OBA Executive council for the year 2021:

    • PATRON Desamanya Prof. M.T.M Furkhan
    • VICE PATRONS Mr. Nawaz Gaffor, Mr. Aslam Omer
    • PRESIDENT M. Alavi Mukthar
    • VICE PRESIDENTS N.M. Shiraz, M.R.A. Razaq, M. Safraz Saleem
    • HONY. GEN. SECRETARY Nuzri Munsoor
    • HONY. ASST. SECRETARY M. Ramzeen Slamath
    • HONY. TREASURER Haaziq Jaleel
    • HONY. INTERNAL AUDITOR Rishad Raheem
    • HONY. EDITOR A.M.M. Muzzamil
    • HONY. SPORTS SECRETARY Mohamed Cassim

    Executive Committee Members :
    Akram Moulana, A.L. Anver, Akbar Samidon, FarzanShabdeen, IfrasKamil, Imran Mansoor, M H M Falul, M. Azhar Salahudeen, M.B. AuferJohar, M.F. Marso, M.I.M. Azwar, M.M.M. Naveez, M.Yusri Hussain, Nazly Nizam, Niyaz Aboobucker

    Past President :
    Naina Mohamed

    SGM, there were 5 contestants vying for three places at the prestigious Board of Governors. The Presiding Officer, Mr. Hanan Malik declared the following as elected polling the highest number of votes:

    • Mr. Fouzul Hameed
    • Mr. Naina Mohamed
    • Dr. Safraz Saleem

    Finally, Mr. Hanan Malik invited the incumbent President to chair the meeting.

    In his maiden speech, Mr. Alavi Mukthar profusely thanked all the members for electing him as the President of the OBA. He also thanked the outgoing President, Mr. Naina Mohamed and his dedicated team for having done an outstanding job and assured to continue the good work in letter and spirit.

    The Chairman of Board of Governors spoke and highlighted his vision to uplift Zahira to achieve academic brilliance and pursuit of excellence.

    The Presiding Officer, Mr. Hanan Malik skillfully conducted the proceedings with composure and professionalism. The participation was somewhat unprecedented. It was pleasing to see a large number of Old Zahirians assembled in the spirit of camaraderie, and who all maintained decorum till the last moment by adhering to health protocols.

    Last but in no means least, credit also goes to the energetic Secretary of the OBA, Mr. Nuzri Munsoor and his team members, for methodically handling the election process with utmost care and precision.

    The epoch-making event was wrapped up with the recitation of Salawath.

    Majeed Muzammil

    Fellow of the Institute of Management (UK) and Diploma holder in Journalism (UK). Author of the book, "Agony of Bosnia". Ex- Project Manager of the Gulf Catering in the Middle East.

    Currently freelancing at a leading Muslim NGO in Colombo.